Professor appointment of CoSTREAM scientists in Medical Delta

>Medical Delta has appointed seven new professors who will bridge the medical worlds of Leiden, Delft and Rotterdam. This includes:

Epidemiologist Prof. Cock van Duijn (project coordinator of CoSTREAM) uses cohort population studies to learn about and prevent illness. Inauguration speech: 'Precision medicine in the Medical Delta: genes, metabolites and prevention.'

Analytical Bioscientist Prof. Thomas Hankemeier (leading metabolomics in CoSTREAM) envisions metabolomics to change healthcare, which the Medical Delta is in a unique place for to achieve. Inauguration speech: 'Big Data in the Medical Delta: how metabolomics will change healthcare.'

Medical Delta brings together three renowned universities, two university medical centers, four colleges, governments, companies, healthcare institutions and other parties in the province Zuid-Holland, The Netherlands. It was founded in 2006 by the three universities (TU Delft, Leiden University and Erasmus University Rotterdam) and the two UMCs (LUMC and Erasmus MC) in the province Zuid Holland.

Besides their current main appointment, the Medical Delta professors will each be appointed in one of the other cities as well. Medical Delta's aim with these dual appointments is to structurally stimulate cooperation among the Medical Delta institutes and disciplines. The professors have been selected on the basis of their performances in interdisciplinary partnerships in the field of Life Sciences, Health & Technology.

Of the new Medical Delta professors, 3 are doctors and 4 researchers. They work in the research areas of cancer therapy, orthopaedic surgery, molecular biology/biophysics, epidemiology and analytical biosciences. The new Medical Delta professors will be inaugurated at a special ceremony during the Medical Delta Event 2016 on 21 June in Delft, where each will present a brief inauguration speech, highlighting dreams and opportunities for collaboration within the Medical Delta collaboration.

Posted on Thursday 30 June 2016